When I think of nutrition, I do not think of nutrients in the first place. I think of delicious foods, like salad, watermelon, pineapple, grapes, cucumbers, tomatoes, mozzarella, all kinds of nuts, avocado, or a medium rare steak.

All kinds of foods contain nutrients, however in different proportions. If it comes to a healthy nutrition variety is the key. No matter what you preferred dish is, it wouldn´t be good to eat it every day, because then you couldn´t eat balanced and you would lack certain nutrients which are essential for your health and your own wellbeing.

The human body requires 7 major types of nutrients

In order to keep our metabolism going, the human body needs seven major types of nutrients: water, carbohydrates, fat, proteins, vitamins, minerals and fibre.

A common classification is to separate

  • Macronutrients and
  • Micronutrients

Macronutrients are nutrients we need in relatively large quantities, whereas micronutrients are nutrients we need in relatively small quantities.

  • Macronutrients
    • Carbohydrates – 4 kcal per gram
    • Proteins – 4 kcal per gram
    • Fats – 9 kcal per gram
    • Water
    • Fibre
  • Micronutrients
    • Vitamins
    • Minerals

According to another classification, macronutrients can be further split into energy macronutrients that provide energy and macronutrients that do not provide energy, like water and fibre.

If you want to know more about a healthy diet, read more here